Why Magento tops Shopify as a web commerce platform

Magento vs Shopify

Why Magento tops Shopify as a web commerce platform

When it comes time to choose an e-commerce platform for your business, making the right choice may seem like a daunting task. Many of us pick what’s most popular, or the first thing that is suggested to us. But that’s not always the best solution for our needs! If you want to grow and evolve, it’s crucial that you choose the right e-commerce platform from the outset!

There are two major players that stand out from the crowd in today’s market: Shopify and Magento. Both are great options for creating your online store and both offer many ways of personalizing the customer experience. However, Magento has a lot more options than Shopify and with Magento, you’ll get exactly what you are looking for at a lower cost. Here’s why…

A tool that adapts to your needs

As a platform, Shopify is easy to use and easy to install. It provides a good base for small businesses, but the platform reaches its limits quickly. It will then become more challenging to grow your online store without encountering several snags. As soon as you want to add features, special features that aren’t commonly used or features that aren’t at the heart of Shopify, you will have to install extensions, and those extensions aren’t necessarily compatible with each other, making it more complicated and often more expensive.

For example, Shopify is unilingual at its base, while Magento is intrinsically multilingual. So in order to create an online store that is multilingual on Shopify, you need to add an extension and ensure that all the text on your site (purchase confirmation, page 404, dialog boxes, email confirmations, etc.) has been translated to French. You may even have to create a second online store in another language to avoid any bugs. The same goes for selling in multiple currencies.

With Magento, everything is adaptable, while with Shopify you always have to add extensions to make each additional function operational. What’s more, usually Shopify users have to hire Shopify programmers to install custom modules and features.

Magento will adapt to your needs while with Shopify, it’s the opposite: you will have to adapt your needs to suit the platform or find an extension (often at an extra cost) that can best meet your needs.

What’s it all going to cost you?

Cost is a concern for many people when they are shopping around for an e-commerce platform. Shopify offers a monthly rate that includes hosting fees. Magento is a free, open-source software, but you have to cover the hosting costs.

Unless you are skilled with technology, you can rely on experts who can help you build your online Magento store. If you use Shopify and you are a motivated user, you can create your website on your own. But there is a catch: because Shopify offers a month-to-month payment plan, in the long-term, it’s more affordable to pay Magento’s start-up costs.

And remember, if you want to customize your online sales or add special features to your products, you will have a harder time doing so yourself with Shopify. Sooner or later you will need a developer who will charge you extra, in addition to your monthly subscription. Lastly, if your company expands and Shopify no longer meets your needs, you will lose your configuration and any customization you implemented on Shopify because you can’t export from the platform. That means a waste of time and money for your company. And who wants that?!

Magento grows with you

Even if Shopify is a good way to start your own online business, in the end Magento is more profitable and less complicated if used right from the start. It’s a better platform that will grow alongside your company and you will never be limited by its functions. It will adapt to your business model instead of holding you back. Very few platforms can boast such flexibility.

Contact us to find out more about the services offered by Le Backstore and about its expertise with Magento.

 

Contact us

Share this post

Pourquoi vous faut-il Magento plutôt que Shopify?

Magento vs Shopify

Pourquoi vous faut-il Magento plutôt que Shopify?

Lorsque vient le temps de sélectionner une plateforme de commerce en ligne pour son entreprise, il peut s’avérer difficile de faire le bon choix. Plusieurs personnes choisissent l’option la plus connue ou la première qu’on leur propose… Pourtant, il ne s’agit pas nécessairement de la meilleure solution! Si on veut pouvoir grandir et évoluer, il est extrêmement important de choisir une bonne plateforme de commerce électronique dès le départ!

Dans ce marché, deux joueurs sortent rapidement du lot: Shopify et Magento. Les deux représentent de bonnes options pour créer votre boutique en ligne et offrent de nombreuses façons de personnaliser l’expérience client. Cependant, Magento possède beaucoup plus possibilités que Shopify et vous permettra d’obtenir exactement ce que vous souhaitez, et ce, à moindre coût. Voici pourquoi…

Un outil qui se moule à vos besoins 

Shopify est une plateforme facile d’utilisation et d’installation. Elle fournit une bonne base pour les petites entreprises, mais ses limites sont rapidement atteintes. C’est alors qu’il devient difficile de continuer à développer sa boutique en ligne sans se heurter à plusieurs complications. Dès que l’on veut ajouter des fonctionnalités, des particularités qui sortent de la norme ou encore des options qui ne sont pas de base dans Shopify, il faut installer des extensions qui ne communiquent pas nécessairement entre elles, qui peuvent être lourdes et qui sont rarement gratuites.

Par exemple, Shopify est unilingue à la base, tandis que Magento est nativement multilingue. Cela veut dire que pour pouvoir créer une boutique en ligne multilingue sur Shopify, il faut y ajouter une extension et s’assurer que tout le texte du site (confirmation d’achat, page 404, boîtes de dialogue, courriels de confirmation, etc.) soit traduits en français; ou encore, il faut créer une seconde boutique en ligne dans une autre langue pour éviter les bogues. Il en va de même pour vendre dans plusieurs devises.

Dans Magento, tout est modulable, tandis que pour Shopify il faut penser à ajouter des extensions pour implanter chaque fonctionnalité supplémentaire. De plus, il faut généralement engager des programmeurs Shopify pour installer des modules et fonctions sur mesure.

Magento se moule à vos besoins, tandis qu’avec Shopify, c’est le contraire: vous devrez moduler vos besoins à la plateforme ou trouver une extension (souvent payante) qui y répond le mieux possible.

Et le coût dans tout ça?

La question des frais arrive rapidement lors du choix d’une plateforme de e-commerce. D’un côté, Shopify offre un tarif par mois qui inclut les frais d’hébergement, et de l’autre, Magento est un logiciel libre de droits qui ne comprend pas l’hébergement.

À moins d’être un expert en la matière, vous mandaterez des experts qui vous aideront à mettre sur pied votre boutique en ligne Magento. Sur Shopify, vous pouvez y arriver seul avec de la motivation. Or, il y a un piège: puisque Shopify offre une formule de paiement par mois, il devient rapidement plus rentable de défrayer des coûts de démarrage avec Magento.

Dans un autre ordre d’idée, si vous souhaitez personnaliser votre structure de vente web ou encore ajouter des particularités à vos produits, il est relativement difficile de le faire par vous-même dans Shopify. Un jour ou l’autre, vous aurez besoin d’un développeur qui vous coûtera des frais supplémentaires, en plus de votre abonnement mensuel. Finalement, si votre compagnie s’agrandit et que Shopify ne convient plus à vos besoins, vous perdrez toute la configuration et la personnalisation mises en place sur Shopify puisque celles-ci ne s’exportent pas de la plateforme. Ce sera donc de l’investissement d’argent et de temps perdu pour votre compagnie. Ouch!

Magento suit votre croissance

Même si Shopify est un bon moyen de lancer soi-même son commerce en ligne, il revient plus rentable et moins compliqué de partir dès le début avec Magento. Il s’agit d’une meilleure plateforme qui vous permettra de suivre la croissance de votre compagnie et vous ne vous retrouverez jamais limité par ses fonctions. Celle-ci s’ajuste à votre modèle d’affaires et non le contraire. Peu de plateformes peuvent se vanter d’offrir autant de flexibilité.

Contactez-nous pour en connaître davantage sur les services offerts par Le Backstore et sur son expertise Magento.

 

Contactez-nous

Partager cette publication